Program 219: The Aboriginal Heritage (Miscellaneous) Amendment Bill 2016

Radio Program 219

The focus of this week’s Paper Tracker radio program is on the South Australian Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988.

In 2008, the then Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, Mr Jay Weatherill, announced a Review of the Aboriginal Heritage Act. The Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Division prepared a scoping paper and community consultations were held about key issues in the Act. In addition, submissions were called for.

For many years, since the early community consultations and discussions that were held with peak bodies in 2013, there appears to have been little or no activity on this Review process. Then, on 25th February, without any apparent public discussion with the broader Aboriginal Community, the draft legislation – the Aboriginal Heritage (Miscellaneous) Amendment Bill 2016 – was introduced into Parliament. This took many Traditional Owners, Heritage Groups and Native Title holders by surprise.

This week’s program includes a short interview with the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, Minister Kyam Maher, which is followed by comments and discussion with the Chief Executive Officer of the South Australian Native Title Services (SANTS), Mr Keith Thomas; a Narungga elder, traditional owner and chairperson of 22 native title groups across the Yorke Peninsula of South Australia, the Co-chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples, and the recipient of the 2015 NAIDOC Lifetime Achievement Award, Mr Tauto Sansbury; and the Chairperson of the Yankunytjatjara Native Title Aboriginal Corporation, and a Traditional Owner of the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands, Ms Karina Lester.

The Paper Tracker works hard to provide accurate and up-to-date information. We will correct any inaccurate information as soon as it is brought to our attention. Please contact us if you have additional information or can provide us with an update.