Program 256: Aboriginal Affairs on key legislation

Radio Program 256
Nerida Saunders, Executive Director, Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation

Nerida Saunders, Executive Director, Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation

This week’s program focuses on two key pieces of legislation that have recently been reviewed and amended and that affect Anangu tjuta – the South Australian Aboriginal Heritage Act and the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Land Rights Act.

To find out more about the big changes to these two Acts, we talk with Nerida Saunders, the Executive Director of Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation in the Department of State Development.

Nerida first explains the changes to the APY Land Rights Act – in particular the changes to the way the APY Executive Board elections will be conducted as well as other changes to APY governance.

She then talks about the amended Aboriginal Heritage Act and lets people know about how the Recognised Aboriginal Registered Bodies (RARBs) will be set up and about the new regulations and guidelines that are linked to the Act and that have recently been published. These regulations and guidelines are available for public comment and people are invited to make submissions or provide comment via the YourSAY website: or by emailing or posting a submission to the Department of State Development, Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, GPO Box 320 Adelaide, 5001.

You can find out more about the changes to the Aboriginal Heritage Act and the new regulations and guidelines by visiting the Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation website here.

Important to note: There’s a change in the due date for submissions and comments on the Aboriginal Heritage Act regulations and guidelines.

Please note that the due date for submissions/comments on the regulations and guidelines, as stated in the interview with the Paper Tracker radio, is 16th January. However, the Anangu Lands Paper Tracker has since been informed by DSD-AAR that the deadline has been extended until 28 February 2017. This will give everyone more time to discuss the regulations/guidelines and prepare their comments for submission to DSD-AAR.

Nerida also lets listeners know about the new members of the South Australia Aboriginal Advisory Committee (SAAAC) and explains that this Committee meets every two months. In addition to the Council’s formal meetings, the Chairperson meets regularly with the Minister, Chief Executives and other senior South Australian Government officers, the Co-Commissioners for Aboriginal Engagement and key Aboriginal stakeholders. If people would like to have their voices heard in policy and advisory discussions with government, they should get in touch with a member of the SAAAC. The SAAAC member from the APY Lands is Aileen Shannon, from Fregon Anangu Community.

The Paper Tracker works hard to provide accurate and up-to-date information. We will correct any inaccurate information as soon as it is brought to our attention. Please contact us if you have additional information or can provide us with an update.