New legislation for Aboriginal Lands Trust

Posted on 13 December 2013 under Umoona & Yalata.
Tags: legislation

ALT_logoLast month, the South Australian Parliament passed legislation to overhaul the operation of the Aboriginal Lands Trust.1

The Trust – established in 1966 – holds the titles for more than 60 properties including two Anangu communities (Umoona and Yalata).

While the legislation has not yet come into operation,2 its passing marks the culmination of almost a decade’s work by the Government’s Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Division.3

The Paper Tracker has been monitoring the review of this legislation since March 2008. This included recording a radio show interview in February 2013 with staff from the Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Division.


  1. Parliament of South Australia. 28 November 2013. “Aboriginal Lands Trust Bill”, Hansard, House of Assembly, p8094.
  2. While the Act was assented to on 5 December 2013, as of 13 December 2013 it had not come into operation. See: ernment of South Australia. 5 December 2013. The South Australian Government Gazette, p4406. Also: Government of South Australia. 2013. “Aboriginal Lands Trust 2013”, Webpage available at: Accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. See: SA Department for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation. November 2004, “Review of Aboriginal Lands Trust Act (SA) 1966”, document provided to Aboriginal Lands Parliamentary Standing Committee, Parliament of South Australia.
The Paper Tracker works hard to provide accurate and up-to-date information. We will correct any inaccurate information as soon as it is brought to our attention. Please contact us if you have additional information or can provide us with an update.